Didier De Montmollin Founding Partner

 

Profile

Didier de Montmollin is a founding partner, together with André Gruber, Philippe Eigenheer and Niels Schindler, of DGE Attorneys at law. He graduated from Neuchâtel University in 1981 and was admitted to the Neuchâtel Bar in 1983 and to the Geneva Bar in 1986.

After gaining legal experience in Dallas, Texas, he was legal counsel at the Swiss Bankers Association, the major trade association of the Swiss banking industry, from 1983 to 1986. He then joined an internationally-oriented commercial law firm with offices in Geneva, London and Moscow first as an associate, and, as of 1992, as a partner. Within the context of the split of the above firm, he decided, as from January 2011, to continue his career and to further take care of his clients in the renewed and dynamic environment of DGE Attorneys at law.

Didier de Montmollin is recognized as an expert on Swiss banking law. In 1998, he became a member of the Executive Committee of the Swiss Bar Association’s Anti-Money Laundering Regulatory Authority. Since 1989, Didier has been one of the four counsel appointed by the Swiss Bankers Association for investigations of violations by member banks of the agreement on the Swiss bank’s Code of Conduct regarding the exercise of due diligence.

Didier’s practice is focused on advising banks and other financial intermediaries directly or indirectly subject to the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority FINMA, and their clients. He is also active in administrative and international judicial assistance, in international and national arbitration, as sole arbitrator, chairman, party-appointed arbitrator and counsel, and in certain complex commercial / banking litigations. He regularly advises on contractual and corporate law.

He has been a member of the Arbitration Committee of the Geneva Chamber of Commerce and Industry and of the National Arbitration Committee (Swiss Rules of International Arbitration) and is lecturer within the framework of the executive education program on Compliance Management organized by the University of Geneva.

Didier de Montmollin is fluent in French and English, with a very good working knowledge of German.

Didier De Montmollin Associé Fondateur

Profil

Didier de Montmollin est l’un des fondateurs de DGE Avocats avec André Gruber, Philippe Eigenheer et Niels Schindler. Il a obtenu une licence en droit de l’Université de Neuchâtel et a été admis au barreau de Neuchâtel en 1983, puis au barreau de Genève en 1986.

Après une première expérience en tant que juriste à Dallas, Texas, il a été conseiller juridique à Bâle auprès de l’Association suisse des banquiers, le plus grand groupement de défense des intérêts de l’industrie bancaire suisse, de 1983 à 1986. Il a ensuite rejoint une étude d’avocats commerciale à caractère international avec des bureaux à Genève, Londres et Moscou, d’abord en tant que collaborateur puis, à partir de 1992, en tant qu’associé.

Suite à la scission de cette étude, il a décidé de poursuivre sa carrière et de servir ses clients dans le cadre nouveau et dynamique de DGE Avocats.

Didier de Montmollin est un expert reconnu du droit bancaire. En 1998, il a été nommé en tant que membre du Bureau de l’organisme d’auto régulation (OAR) de la Fédération Suisse des Avocats et de la Fédération Suisse des Notaires, association regroupant les 12 OAR reconnus par l’Autorité Suisse de Surveillance des Marchés Financiers FINMA. Depuis 1989, il est l’un des quatre chargés d’enquête nommés par l’Association suisse des banquiers dans le cadre de la Convention relative à l’obligation de diligence des banques.

L’activité de Didier de Montmollin est centrée sur le conseil aux banques et aux autres intermédiaires financiers soumis directement ou indirectement à la FINMA, ainsi qu’à leurs clients.

Il est également actif dans le domaine de l’entraide judiciaire internationale pénale et administrative, ainsi que dans l’arbitrage national et international en tant qu’arbitre unique, président de tribunal arbitral, arbitre nommé par une partie et conseil. Il représente les parties dans le cadre de litiges commerciaux et bancaires complexes. Finalement, il conseille régulièrement les clients en matière contractuelle et en droit des sociétés.

Il a été membre du comité d’arbitrage de la Chambre de commerce et d’industrie de Genève et du Comité National d’Arbitrage (Règlement Suisse d’Arbitrage International). Par ailleurs, il dispense un cours dans le cadre de la formation de l’Université de Genève en matière de Compliance Management.

Didier de Montmollin parle couramment français et anglais, et a de très bonnes connaissances d’allemand.